Donald Doing's House of Verbs

I wonder what the insurance premiums are like on a place where things are constantly happening... 

THREE PROS
*For the most part, I enjoyed the illustrations done by the team of Cody McGrath and Anna Pan, since they matched the vibrancy (in terms of color and pace) one would expect from a book about action words  
*While author Marianna Shek could have done more with the title character, she does succeed in crafting the eccentric savant readers tend to remember (in the vein of Willy Wonka or Peter Pan)
*Donald didn't need to have those shoes (mainly because they seem super impractical for a man who is constantly on the move), but I'm darn glad he did

THREE CONS 
*Starts strongly in identifying the core plotline with the snippet about Mr. Neverthere, but really comes off the rails after that
*Normally, I'm all for bonus features in any book I bring home, but, at ten pages of debatably-interesting extra content, DDHV seems to go way overboard in this department
*The story would have been better served fleshing out some more things that Donald liked doing rather than devoting the solitary second page to it (although I realize there are a few more example towards the end, the way it was presented seems like it wants to rush to the things happening in the store without telling us more about the shopkeep himself)

ONE DAD'S OPINION

If you asked me to explain what the point of DDHV was, I don't think I could give you an answer in one tightly wrapped box.  To be honest, you could give me a room full of boxes, and I still would have trouble filling them with an opinion, because I don't quite get what kids are supposed to learn from it.  Still, it is no way boring.  For that reason alone, I would never even consider Destroying it.  And so we're left with a no-doubter Donate...  

Buy / Borrow / DONATE / Destroy

5 comments:

Noelle Katrina Sy said...

Name: BroadBase Media
Your email address: affiliates@broadbasemedia.com
Subject: Working together.


Message:
Hi,

We manage the Affiliate Program for several websites that we think may be a great fit for you and your audience. These sites include www.ergobaby.com, www.orbitbaby.com and www.skyniceland.com.

Please let us know if you would have some time to chat, or shoot us an email and we can discuss further.

Thank you in advance

Marc

Casey McGovern said...

Hello Erik,
I enjoy your review style. I want to see if I can send you a review copy of my new book, A Bag of Badgers, which is silly poems and drawings inspired by Shel Silverstein and Gary Larson. Here's hoping!
Thanks,
Casey

Nicolas Dutch said...

So you can hand over any writing work assignment to them through email, and pay a reasonable charge online. Thanks for Writer
Cheap Assignment Writing Services

bfdf said...

Thanks a lot for this honest review... It really does helps a lot.
Character Development Buffalo

cô hàng xóm said...

Tiểu buốt,Tiểu rắt,Tiểu nhiều,Tiểu ra máu,Đau tinh hoàn,Viêm tinh hoàn,Mụn dương vật,Khám nam khoa,Phòng khám nam khoa

Sùi mào gà,Bệnh sùi mào gà là gì,Chữa bệnh sùi mào gà,Chữa bệnh sùi mào gà ở đâu,Điều trị bệnh sùi mào gà,Dấu hiệu bệnh sùi mào gà,Nguyên nhân bệnh sùi mào gà,Sùi mào gà ở nam,Sùi mào gà ở nữ